Connecticut Horticultural Society

Connecticut Horticultural Society


2012-13 Scholarship Recipients

CHS recognized at the October 2012 program meeting three University of Connecticut students and one student from Naugatuck Valley Community College who each received a CHS scholarship for the 2012-13 academic year.

The UConn student recipients are (above, left to right) Melissa Peterson, Justine Leeper and Elisabeth Thorpe, while at  NVCC, Jane Polacco of Watertown (below) was awarded a scholarship. Congratulations!

Please help CHS support these and other young people training to enter the horticultural field by attending the Fall plant auction and sale Sept. 27,2013 7 p.m. at the Tolland County Agricultural Center in Vernon.


UConn Scholarship Recipients

CHS Scholarship Award Recipients at UConn
by Elaine Widmer

CHS recognized at the May 2012 program meeting three University of Connecticut students who each received a CHS scholarship. The students, who earned bachelor’s degrees in horticulture in December or May, are

-- Shelley Durocher, who received the David J. A. Smith Award.  Durocher is enrolled in a UConn master’s program, researching Japanese barberry under the direction of Mark H. Brand, professor of horticulture. The goal is to create a sterile barberry for distribution. During college, Durocher worked at UConn’s Soil Nutrient Analysis Lab and at the Jonathan Edwards Winery & Vineyard in North Stonington. She is interested in floriculture, breeding and plant propagation, and plant biotechnology. She lives in Vernon.


Shelley Durocher

-- Erica Pagliughi, who received the Edwin D. “Pat” Carpenter Award. Pagliughi works for Christensen Landscape Services in Northford. She enjoys helping clients design their gardens and beautify their properties. While in college, she worked at Burnett’s Landscaping in Salem, Imperial Nurseries in Granby and B&B Landscaping in Glastonbury. She was a member of the National Honor Society, Sigma Alpha Lambda National Honor Society, the College of Agriculture & Natural Resources Dean’s List and the National Society of Collegiate Scholars. A Glastonbury resident, she is an avid equestrian who has volunteered with Westfield Riding Club.


Erica Pagliughi 

-- Ashley Saylor, who received the Ludwig Hoffman Memorial Scholarship. Saylor has been employed for several months at CTdaylily in Wallingford. Her goal is to focus on plant propagation and production, especially in a greenhouse setting. She also is interested in direct sales to customers and growers. While in college, she was an intern at Longwood Gardens in Kennett Square, Pa. She was a member of the UConn Horticultural Club, College of Agriculture & Natural Resources Dean’s List and the National Honor Society, and was actively involved with Alpha Zeta, QUAD and Tau Beta Sigma. She volunteered with Group Workcamps Foundation, where she painted houses and built decks for disabled, poor and elderly residents.


 Ashley Saylor and CHS Awards Chairman Elaine Widmer

Preparing a Future Generation

The Connecticut Horticultural Society is mindful of its horticultural legacy and the ways in which it passes the legacy to the next generation.

The lynchpin of these efforts is the award of scholarships for deserving students of horticulture in the state. The fund began in 1959 with the award of a single scholarship of $100 to a student at the University of Connecticut. In 2015, CHS will award  $8000, divided among three students in the plant sciences program at UConn ($6,000 total) and two students in the horticulture program at Naugatuck Valley Community College ($2,000 total).

Since its inception, the fund has awarded a total of more than $150,000. The CHS spring and fall plant auctions are the main ways in which the society raises money for the scholarship fund.